Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Monday Monday Monday

Well Monday went sort of ok. I was up at one point then down 400 at one point then I finished only down 55$ which is not bad because I made that back up in the fpps I made. I marked two hands for review. I will get right too it today because I don't have a lot of time. The first hand is about using your read and using your HUD (heads up display) to make the right fold.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?4023257

So I flopped pretty well in this hand but it turned pretty bad on the turn. I have over 10k hands of this player at 10/1/1. He is REALLY nitty. I think the fold on the turn is pretty standard. Even if I have the nut straight I think I would fold because he is never doing this with less then a full house. So the turned sucked for me but I think the check on the flop is good as I was going for a c/r. The reason I c/r in this spot is because it was an unopened pot. If someone had raised preflop then I would be more inclined to lead the flop hoping to get raised. I would probably then call and lead the turn again. Just depends on the villain in the hand. In this case though I think its a pretty easy insta muck. Make sure to always note people to of how they play. If you 10 table and cant make any notes on anyone maybe you should 8 table. I think not taking is very important. Taking notes can sometimes be a problem because you want to write to much. Try and keep the notes short and to the point so that you can click on the notes during a hand and instantly know about the person. Some examples would be; c/r all cbets, floats a lot, steals more then normal, leads flpd set etc. This is important key in playing online poker. The HUD is great but notes you make yourself help that extra bit.

Alright the second hand is along the same lines of knowing your opponent and note taking.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?4023301

Ive been playing with this reg lately and hes very aggro towards me. I don't know if he doesn't like me or what it is but he always trys to make plays on me and that's why I'm up a bit of money because of him. I called the raise in the first place because i have a suited connector and that's the nuts. When we get squeezed from the bb I'm thinking he is doing this with a somewhat wide range because I'm in the hand and he hates me but I'm still getting reads on him. I don't think he makes this play with anything but pairs and high cards. The reason i say this is because Ive never seen him do this with suited connectors and hands like that so basically i think its high cards. The flop comes down perfect for me because i hit a pair and not only that but top pair :) His cbet is 100% standard because if you squeeze you have to bet the flop 100% So me hitting top pair I'm going to call 100% Usually people slowdown on the turn but he didn't so I had to think for a split second. he could be shoving because he thinks I'm bad and he wants to push me around or he could be shoving with kq with 1 heart etc so i decided to call thinking I'm good. Once i see his hand i note it. he wasn't being aggro it was more of a bad play. the good thing now is that he probably thinks I'm a huge fish/donk/calling station so that will pay off nicely.

Alright that's it for Monday

Money lost -55$
Fpps made: 6434
Vpps made: 1924
Hours played: not sure I think about 5

Total Vpps this year: 67,283

4 comments:

  1. ok since i was a dick in the other comments i'll comment on the hands to be less of a dick

    yeah hand 1 super-ez fold

    hand 2 i really don't like. the preflop call isn't good against a half-stacker, especially one with a clue this doesnt play well. and then the flop and turn, i just dunno. if you call the flop i think you're pretty much committed to call on this turn, if we're going to continue on the flop though i think i'd rather just jam. if he ends up folding stuff like AJ with Jh there it's a big win for us and if he ends up calling well that's ok too.

    i think usually on the turn though you're totally screwed. this time you weren't but more often than not you are either in a real bad spot or he still has 30% equity.

    but again this all stems from a bad preflop call, this hand just doesn't play well against this guy and his stack. i'm still calling a decent amount preflop here, but with more big-card hands that i'd fold against a deeper stack and less of the suited-connector/set-miney stuff.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm not sure but I think you might need glasses? Almost everyone on that table is full stacked. Also I think the play was perfect vs this villain. He spews like this tons of times so I was never worried about being behind in this hand after the flop. Before you talk about my play maybe you should learn to read a simple HH. I mean you've been coached for a year and your OBV a really really good player so I just curious about why you can't read a HH. Maybe you should read my thoughts about the hh before posting?

    ReplyDelete
  3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  4. ok, i'm an idiot, actually i did miss that i thought it was .50/1

    HU4ROLLZ? I'm an idiot, let's play! 50/1 minimum.

    Your play in hand 2 still isn't really good.

    ReplyDelete